Exploding Stuffed Dogs Make For Fun Reading

Some books are so good I wonder how they slipped past my radar. How did I miss this one for the past 8 years? It’s just embarrassing.I finished No More Dead Dogs by Gordon Korman yesterday.

The main character is a middle-schooler named Wallace Wallace who writes an unfavorable book report on Old Shep, My Pal (think Old Yeller and Where the Red Fern Grows) complaining about how the dog always dies at the end of such sappy books. This sets off a series of events that examine the jocks vs. geeks paradigm of middle school and what honesty can sometimes buy a person, especially a kid. If I taught 6th or 7th grade, I’d be pushing this book on a weekly basis–it is smart, but readable (at about beginning 5th grade level, I’m guessing). No More Dead Dogs may make it as a book club selection in my room next year.

 

 

Leave a Reply

