Reading Sunday

Today was the first day I had not a single commitment to family or friends.  I spent it in my pajamas, reading and sleeping and reading and SMILING.  Not only did this feed the raging introvert that I am outside the classroom–well, it just feels good to read.  I’ve finished two more kid lit selections:

The Magic Thief by Sarah Prineas  I picked this one up after reading about it on Literate Lives.  I really enjoyed the main character, Conn, and how he draws people to him.  All the primary characters seem to have little quirks/secrets that kept me reading on.  It is the first in a trilogy, and I’ll definitely follow along, even though the reading level may be just a shade high for many of my fifth graders (just a guess, we’ll see what happens!). 

The Mysterious Benedict Societyby Trenton Lee Stewart  If you love Roald Dahl or Lemony Snicket books, you’ll probably enjoy this book.  It took a couple hundred pages for me to sink in, and I did end up liking it, if not loving it.  The main characters are certainly sympathetic and interesting, and there are a couple of fun twists in the plot.  But the plugs for the joys of individuality and the power of teamwork sometimes felt a little forced to me.  Having said that, I think this book will be a hit with many students.  I had a couple of Dahl fans this past year and wish I’d known about this title to recommend it to help them graduate into some longer fiction works.

That’s numbers five and six out of the ten children’s lit titles that I set as one of my summer goals–read and in a pile to return to my classroom.  Woo-hoo!  Read on!

Leave a Reply

