The 999th Reason I Love RCWP

I’m spending this week at Red Cedar Writing Project’s Tech Matters, and I love these people. I am crammed in a tiny room with 20 people, 20 laptops, and a smartboard all day for four days, which sounds like a terrible way to spend a week in August before school starts. Not so. My RCWP colleagues come to new learning with such intention to learn and have fun doing so that I always feel inspired to take that next step to be better myself. There is laughter, conversation, frustration, collaboration, and always people stepping a bit out of their comfort zone, open to people and possibilities.

When I’m sitting in my own district’s PD (all too soon), I suspect I will observe very little of this kind of commitment to a learning life. Is it the teachers? Is it the quality and framework of the professional development opportunities that my district implements? My gut tells me that issues of choice, empowerment, suspicion/doubt, vision…

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jill
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 19:43:03

    You are so eloquent and so damn right!

    Imagine what our schools would be like if we were allowed more choice in terms of our professional development….

    Reply

  2. hloney
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 21:56:33

    I see teachers empowered…and that means students empowered.

    Reply

  3. Steorling
    Aug 23, 2008 @ 15:21:21

    Oh, yes…empowered, playful, forward thinking, and so ridiculously knowledgeable as a group it’s scary. RCWP would rule the world if they weren’t so busy preparing students to do it. 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

