Office Supply Store Crisis

Sunday was “Teacher Appreciation Day” at one of the big office supply stores, and I was standing at the doors when they opened on the off chance there might be some good free stuff.  Nope.  But I wandered the store anyway, breathing in the smell of chemically treated paper and filling a bag with some of the better sale items.  It is that time of year.

At the checkout, a young man smiles as I put my purchases on the counter and pass over my super-special teacher perks card.

“Looks like you have some great supplies here!”

“Yup.”  I stare at the items getting scanned and bagged.  Did I get enough highlighters?  Sticky notes?

“You must be so excited for school to start!” he chirps.  My head whips up and I look directly at the clerk.  I can see nothing but genuine enthusiasm in his eyes.

It takes me a second or two to respond.

Are you nuts, kid?  I’m not ready for school!  Are you secretly judging me, telling me that my undeserved vacation has already gone on too long?  Have you any idea how much prep I still have to do???  I’m only halfway through my summer reading list, oh crap!  And that whole plan I had to revamp my vocabulary-building program–I haven’t even started….I feel like I’m going to throw up.  If I respond sarcastically, does that make me a bad person?  If I don’t, can I live with myself?  

“Sort of.”  I pay, grab my bag, and get the heck out of there, resolved to spend the day either at the beach or hiding under my bed.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nora
    Aug 03, 2011 @ 02:46:26

    Very funny and so true! There is such a sense of panic you feel as the new school year looms: those summer days you spent procrastinating; the lost opportunities to finally finish all those projects; the fear you won’t be ready or you will miss out on those big bargains at the office supply store. I think “sort of” covers it.

    Reply

  2. Jennifer
    Aug 03, 2011 @ 21:18:54

    haha, what a great post! I totally share your feelings about not being ready for summer to end! I mean, I love teaching, but I feel like I don’t know where the summer went! I haven’t done half the things I wanted to do, and now August is here and I’m thinking about school and starting to stress already! I love the humor and truthfulness in your post!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

