Secret Plans, Clever Tricks, and Good-Hearted Monkeys

The Enormous Crocodile and The Twits

Author:  Roald Dahl

Favorite Quote:  “‘I have secret plans and clever tricks,’ said the crocodile.”

I’ve read a couple Roald Dahl books in my day.  Probably my favorite thing about his writing is how stupid many adults are portrayed as being in his stories. He may have been on to something.  I’ve never read any of his shorter children’s books, so I sat down with these two titles to pass an hour.  Both stories have disgustingly horrible antagonists who ultimately get their just desserts.  While the stories aren’t really connected, they do share two supporting characters, Muggle-Wump the monkey and the Roly-Poly Bird.  I’m now wondering if I’ll see one or both of these two in further Dahl selections.

So…the thing is, Dahl writes books that are both simple and clever all at once, and in my experience, a kid who loves one

of his books tends to enjoy the rest.  These two will join Matilda, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, and a few others on the shelves of my classroom library, but I’m wondering how to introduce Dahl to the kids.  The best way I know to lure kids to an author is a read aloud…but read aloud time is precious.  More thought is clearly required here.

Leave a Reply

